Koozies and CDs Now Available Online

Head to Bandcamp today to buy a koozie or a CD! Any physical merch purchases come with free stickers and pins. On Bandcamp Fridays, Bandcamp waives their revenue splits so we get all of your financial support. Where’s that money going? Hopefully into a new record that we very much want to make.


You can also find our CD, alongside other great local records, at Monumental Market in Jamaica Plain, also home to Light of Day Records.

cd on the shelf

rehearsal photosWhat have we been up to? Given the circumstances, we’re doing our darnedest to rehearse and learn some new songs. It’s been slowgoing, but as you might imagine, we’re just happy to be in a room making music together. We just can’t wait to perform live again and do some recording. We miss hanging out with you!

If you’ve already collected all of our releases, we thank you for your support! Please visit bandcamp and support other artists!

The New Limits Release Debut Self-Titled Album

The New Limits Photo by Marie Craig


New Record Available For Streaming, Download July 25

Boston-based ska, rocksteady and soul band The New Limits will release their debut self-titled album on July 25th, 2017 via Date Night Records. The new album will be available for stream and purchase on iTunes, Bandcamp, Spotify, Amazon, Tidal, and wherever else you listen to music.

The New Limits follows the 2015 release of the band’s debut EP Pressure Up, which served as an introduction to the Boston band’s distinct blend of danceable music. This new record expands on that template, and presents a more diverse range of sounds than would have been possible from a four-song EP.

The band will mark the occasion with an album release show on Tuesday, July 25, 2017 at O’Brien’s Pub. Having previously sold out the Allston venue, The New Limits knew this was a natural location for the celebration. Supporting the night will be roots reggae act Mr. Ice from Cambridge and rocksteady band The Steady 45s on tour from Los Angeles. Tickets are on sale now.

First single and leadoff track “Loss for Words” starts with a burst of soulful energy from the rhythm section, welcoming a catchy horn line to create a groove that sets the tone for the rest of the record. In the two years since their initial EP’s release, the band began to experiment with a more soul-oriented sound, which shows in tracks like “What’s The Worst That Could Happen” and “Up in the Air”. With “Stir the Pot”, the band channels The Aggrolites for a funky, mid-tracklist jam. Showing further diversity, tracks like “New Way” and “Part of Me” have a more contemplative, reggae feel that successfully contrasts the rest of the album’s energy.


Formed near the end of 2012, The New Limits began as a collection of veteran ska musicians playing the styles of music they grew up with inside of an Allston garage. In trying to emulate the classic ska, rocksteady, and reggae sounds of the past, the band found inspiration in both local and far-reaching bands like Westbound Train, Deal’s Gone Bad, The Slackers, The Pietasters, and The Planet Smashers. The six-piece band is anchored by the rhythm section of Jake Wilkenfeld-Mongillo (formerly of New York’s The Hard Times and Hey Stranger) on guitar and background vocals, Thomas Vezeau on drums, and Alex Chiasson on bass guitar. Matty C, known for his performances with Mass. Hysteria, The Allstonians, and Big D and The Kids Table, brings his unique tenor voice to the mix, along with trumpet duties. Along with Matty, Bradford Hewitt and Miles Blackwood round out the band’s horn section on trombone and alto saxophone, respectively.

The New Limits was recorded by Calum Brockie at Studio A in The Record Company, a non-profit recording studio in South Boston. The recordings were then passed to Brooklyn’s Dave Lowenthal for mixing duties, and then to Richard Marr at Galaxy Park Studios in Watertown for mastering. The band crafted the album’s 11 songs while playing at venues throughout New England, including The Middle East in Cambridge, MA, a Boston Harbor cruise supporting The Slackers, and a summer residency at Bernie’s Beach Bar in Hampton, New Hampshire. With the album’s release, the band hopes to continue to play the music they love to an even wider audience.

Praise for the New Limits:

“The New Limits were certainly raised on the tunes during the heyday of American ska; however their take on the genre is no carbon copy.”Skaboom.com

“The band is anchored by a tight rhythm section laying a foundation for soulful vocals and a horn section that knows exactly how to complement a song.” – Steven Bauer, Readjunk.com

“I felt like this band could do no wrong…I can’t state how much this set kicked ass.”Skot Silver, Scott Silva’s Writings & Ramblings

For Fans Of: The Slackers, Westbound Train, Bim Skala Bim, Deal’s Gone Bad, The Planet Smashers, The Toasters, The Pietasters


First single “Loss for Words” can be embedded and streamed via Youtube, Soundcloud, and Spotify:

  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4GBJ9iTr-UI
  • https://soundcloud.com/thenewlimits/loss-for-words
  • https://open.spotify.com/track/1w4zLk8u0K7OYQNaQjBaq8

Second single “Transition” can be embedded and streamed via Youtube, Soundcloud, and Spotify:

  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o9cFA75cYRg
  • https://soundcloud.com/thenewlimits/transition
  • https://open.spotify.com/track/5Oam4qTw7FfRMuX0kBnLSh

For more information and an advanced copy of the record, please contact jake@jacobwakeup.com.

Album Artwork – https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zx89603va1q2jmq/AACoKdmJZIsGuHKTfQN9Pa5ca?dl=0

Photo of the Band – https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zx89603va1q2jmq/AACoKdmJZIsGuHKTfQN9Pa5ca?dl=0
Photo Credit to Marie Craig

Track List

  1. Loss For Words
  2. Transition
  3. New Way
  4. Up in the Air
  5. Stir the Pot
  6. What’s the Worst That Could Happen
  7. Champion (Underdog)
  8. I’ll Never Listen
  9. Fuego
  10. Part of Me
  11. Priceless

Album Personnel
Matty C – Vocals, Trumpet, Melodica
Jacob Wake Up! – Guitars
Tom Vezeau – Drums, Timbale
Alex Chiasson – Bass
Miles Blackwood – Sax
Brad Hewitt – Trombone, Piano

The New Limits: